Not the California stereotype

Monday, picked up the rental car, got my things together, stopped for coffee and lunch in Sacramento, and finally got on the road in the afternoon.  My plan (or lack of one, depending on your travel style) was to head west, through San Fransisco and south on the Pacific Coast Highway.   Have coffee, will travel.  I hit traffic through San Fran of course, but for the first time in recent memory, it didn’t bother me.  I had nowhere to be and no time to be there; it’s  quite a liberating concept!  I made it through without any irritation, and eventually found myself on the coastal scenic route, the views were gorgeous, albeit HAZY!  After driving past a few scenic overlooks, I came upon a large beach parking lot.  Seemed like a good place to stop.  Opened, my door..BBrrrrrr!!!  As I said before, I was chilly in San Fransisco, but for some reason I thought it wouldn’t be as cool once I got a little south out of the city…I was W-R-O-N-G!  It was at this moment I realized I would probably be wearing that green Army sweatshirt my brother Eric had sent me for more than just evenings!  Despite the chill in the air, and the frigid water, I of course still couldn’t resist slipping off the flops and walking along the edge.  At the end of the beach were a few houses that looked more like a stereotypical Alaskan or New England coastal town.  I knew this trip was not going to be the sunny warm vistas I’d expected, but I was glad.  Driving along not knowing exactly what the scenery would hold added to my enjoyment, and as I would learn, would make me appreciate cozy evening lodgings even more.  I was already falling for character of the California coast.  What would be the next stop?

image

Leave a Reply

